Leslie Michael Orchard ([info]deus_x) wrote,
@ 2001-10-13 16:04:00
Previous Entry  Add to memories!  Tell a Friend  Next Entry
www.foundmyvoice.org
Man, I hate things like this.

www.foundmyvoice.org is an advertisement for Kodak. I saw the URL while watching a Kodak commercial, where a girl took pictures of various cliques in High School, then made a collage mix-up of all the cliques. The URL was in big letters on a poster on the wall in her room. The website's supposed to be her own. (She had a poster with her homepage made up for her own wall?)

Anyway, the site is all high-school-girl-meets-geocities-ified. Maybe I'm wrong, maybe this is real and somehow this Kodak-loving girl got to appear with her website in Kodak commercials... but I'm pretty sure this is just another bad attempt at sneaky advertising.



(6 comments) - (Post a new comment)


[info]ex_jennie822
2001-10-13 01:21 pm UTC (link)
that makes me really ill.

(Reply to this)


[info]nomi
2001-10-13 03:35 pm UTC (link)
That reminds me of this: http://www.sunday-times.co.uk/news/pages/sti/2001/09/09/stifocnws01001.html?

(Reply to this)

from whois
[info]scottobear
2001-10-13 05:01 pm UTC (link)
Domain is foundmyvoice.org

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Domain is taken.
Registrant:
Eastman Kodak Company
Eastman Kodak Company
1999 Lake Avenue, Bldg. 83
Rochester
NY 14650-2203
US
1 716 724 4000

Administrative Contact:
Domain Administrator, Eastman Kodak domadmin@kodak.com
Eastman Kodak Company
1999 Lake Avenue, Bldg. 83
Rochester
NY 14650-2203
US
1 716 724 4000

Record last updated on 25-Jul-2001.
Record created on 07-May-2001.

Domain servers in listed order:
iib.kodak.com 192.232.121.253
ns.kodak.com 192.232.127.191

(Reply to this)


[info]alceria
2001-10-13 05:55 pm UTC (link)
I don't understand how a poorly designed website by a ficticious idiotic teenager would get kids to buy more disposible cameras and film. I just can't believe they actually PAID someone to make that shitty site.

(Reply to this) (Thread)


[info]docwho88
2001-10-16 09:40 am UTC (link)
Uggh. Anyone with half a mind would become immediately suspicious, because the site is both too neat and tidy, and has too many safely rounded edges. Notice, no misspellings, negative or bad language, e-mail addresses, actual names, etc are even used. You'd figure if they wanted to make a fictitious website they'd be able to actually make it look genuine (genuinely half-assed perhaps)... heh

(Reply to this) (Parent)

ugh! it only gets worse!
[info]notjustagirl
2001-10-24 08:07 pm UTC (link)
i just saw a tv commercial using the same images, complete with the "foundmyvoice.org" poster on the wall. and it's set to a remake of "why can't we be friends?"

i think i'm gonna hurl.

(Reply to this)


(6 comments) - (Post a new comment)

Create an Account
Forgot your login or password?
Login w/ OpenID
English • Español • Deutsch • Русский…